View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Aug 26, 2019 6:00 am



Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Card Errata 5/5/2012 
Author Message
Nekomancer
Nekomancer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 4773
Location: Neko-neko-land
Post Card Errata 5/5/2012
Greetings [true believers]

We are issuing a few errata today. All errata here will come into effect immediately (with TO discretion on upcoming tournaments.)

Blue indicates text added to the card.

Incentives: (Reason: Power/Intent)
Now reads, "Target up to two non-opposing characters, ..."

Helm of Swiftness: (Reason: Intent)
The Static text now reads, "An Assassin may spend before equipping Helm to equip it as a Level 6 item." (( removed 'rogue' from the item clause))

Bal-Benoth: (Reason: Intent)
Now reads, "Bal-Benoth must kill a Thrall you control in order to enter play."

Mind over body: (Reason: Power-primarily in open format)
Now reads, "Target non-Warlord character within 3 ranks must succeed with a Will save..."

The Sable Knight: (Reason: Power/Intent)
Now reads, "Your Deverenian Warlord gains +3 to initiative rolls.
React: Once per turn, after a Deverenian you control performs an order: You may perform a Decree."

Thunderclap Bracers (Reason: Power)
The second Order now reads, "Order: Once per turn, discard a card: ..."

Pheonix Rising (Reason: Power)
Pheonix Rising no longer has the text "May not be removed from the game."

Happy Gaming

~Design team & Rules team


Sat May 05, 2012 8:20 am
Profile WWW
Command Staff
Command Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 3518
Location: Usherhaus
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
ahhhh, those seem like good choices.

sad: Phoenix Rising
happy: the rest

does that make Bal-benoth able to be reacted to?

_________________
Order of the Doomed Liver "Pale Ale Rider"

kthx.

Malexin wrote:
There is a food chain. I am on top of it.

Malexin wrote:
...seed your tomato, for the love of god, seed your tomatoes...


Sat May 05, 2012 9:53 am
Profile WWW
Command Staff
Command Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:25 am
Posts: 4829
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
No OPT restriction for Ghoststeel Gauntlets?

Good stuffs on the rest. I too would love to know if this Bal-Benoth change means he can be reacted to, 'cuz that would be the awesomesauce.

_________________
New York Jankees ~ Curator of NY's Cube
melon wrote:
prepare to be disappointed.


Sat May 05, 2012 10:23 am
Profile
Command Staff
Command Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 3518
Location: Usherhaus
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
ghoststeel gauntlets, while good, are not near-infinite like thunderclap.

_________________
Order of the Doomed Liver "Pale Ale Rider"

kthx.

Malexin wrote:
There is a food chain. I am on top of it.

Malexin wrote:
...seed your tomato, for the love of god, seed your tomatoes...


Sat May 05, 2012 10:39 am
Profile WWW
Nekomancer
Nekomancer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 4773
Location: Neko-neko-land
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
The change to bal benoth means that he, the character, is killing a thrall. Previously the player had to kill a thrall. Many thralls say 'after a character you control' kills them, in which case, they could now be used with Bal benoth where as previously they could not.


Sat May 05, 2012 11:35 am
Profile WWW
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 25284
Location: San Diego, CA
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
Quote:
Incentives: (Reason: Power/Intent)
Now reads, "Target up to two non-opposing characters, ..."

Mmmkay. Seems reasonable.

Quote:
Helm of Swiftness: (Reason: Intent)
The Static text now reads, "An Assassin may spend before equipping Helm to equip it as a Level 6 item." (( removed 'rogue' from the item clause))

Sure.

Quote:
Bal-Benoth: (Reason: Intent)
Now reads, "Bal-Benoth must kill a Thrall you control in order to enter play."

Image

Quote:
Mind over body: (Reason: Power-primarily in open format)
Now reads, "Target non-Warlord character within 3 ranks must succeed with a Will save..."

Can we get some insight into what someone found as OP with this card? Because whatever it is I'm sure it was really fun! :)

Quote:
The Sable Knight: (Reason: Power/Intent)
Now reads, "Your Deverenian Warlord gains +3 to initiative rolls.
React: Once per turn, after a Deverenian you control performs an order: You may perform a Decree."

Image
This one's a bummer, but probably how it should be.

Quote:
Thunderclap Bracers (Reason: Power)
The second Order now reads, "Order: Once per turn, discard a card: ..."

Image

Quote:
Pheonix Rising (Reason: Power)
Pheonix Rising no longer has the text "May not be removed from the game."

What's the deal with this one? Not that I'll ever get to play the card, but what was broken about not RFGing it?

_________________
Kasugoan's Redemption • Slayer of the Silvered Fount • Warlord Story Team, Retired • Order of the Doomed Liver-Darth Cider • 2009 ToL Keeper Fantasy League Champion • 2010 & 2011 ToL Football Pick 'em Champion
Draven (about DP9K) wrote:
Psh, im from kentucky. I rode him for YEARS


Sat May 05, 2012 11:59 am
Profile YIM
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 25284
Location: San Diego, CA
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
melon wrote:
The change to bal benoth means that he, the character, is killing a thrall. Previously the player had to kill a thrall. Many thralls say 'after a character you control' kills them, in which case, they could now be used with Bal benoth where as previously they could not.

But he still doesn't work with stuff that specifies they must be killed with ACTIONS, like Blood Cauldron, The Earth or Nin-Gula, right?

Seems like if you're gonna make him work, why not make him work all the way?

_________________
Kasugoan's Redemption • Slayer of the Silvered Fount • Warlord Story Team, Retired • Order of the Doomed Liver-Darth Cider • 2009 ToL Keeper Fantasy League Champion • 2010 & 2011 ToL Football Pick 'em Champion
Draven (about DP9K) wrote:
Psh, im from kentucky. I rode him for YEARS


Sat May 05, 2012 12:01 pm
Profile YIM
Command Staff
Command Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 3518
Location: Usherhaus
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
AragornRoR wrote:
Quote:
Pheonix Rising (Reason: Power)
Pheonix Rising no longer has the text "May not be removed from the game."

What's the deal with this one? Not that I'll ever get to play the card, but what was broken about not RFGing it?


I think they don't like bringing him in permenantly with one last time and then doing stupid things with him.

_________________
Order of the Doomed Liver "Pale Ale Rider"

kthx.

Malexin wrote:
There is a food chain. I am on top of it.

Malexin wrote:
...seed your tomato, for the love of god, seed your tomatoes...


Sat May 05, 2012 12:35 pm
Profile WWW
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 25284
Location: San Diego, CA
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
Awesome. That was what I needed :) Bummed I didn't get to try it.

_________________
Kasugoan's Redemption • Slayer of the Silvered Fount • Warlord Story Team, Retired • Order of the Doomed Liver-Darth Cider • 2009 ToL Keeper Fantasy League Champion • 2010 & 2011 ToL Football Pick 'em Champion
Draven (about DP9K) wrote:
Psh, im from kentucky. I rode him for YEARS


Sat May 05, 2012 12:57 pm
Profile YIM
Writer
Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 12:35 pm
Posts: 4093
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
AragornRoR wrote:
melon wrote:
The change to bal benoth means that he, the character, is killing a thrall. Previously the player had to kill a thrall. Many thralls say 'after a character you control' kills them, in which case, they could now be used with Bal benoth where as previously they could not.

But he still doesn't work with stuff that specifies they must be killed with ACTIONS, like Blood Cauldron, The Earth or Nin-Gula, right?

Seems like if you're gonna make him work, why not make him work all the way?


If Bal Benoth does not use his react when entering play, remove him from the game.
React: After entering play, kill a Thrall.

_________________
The sexiest he-[Censor: dog] in Wargolem's stable.
Rayzer730 wrote:
Thats....actually not funny. :? She is cloathed with hair and magic.

Image


Sat May 05, 2012 1:32 pm
Profile
Inner Circle
Inner Circle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:40 pm
Posts: 2971
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
Eresh-nerf! Whyyyyyyyyyy?! :nonono:

_________________
Image
2012 Kentucky Halloween Tournament - Top Elf
2014 Jeremiah Memorial Event - 2nd & Top FreeK
2017 GenCon Ancients Event - 4th & Top Elf
"We're just like Kevin Bacon!" - Anton Cyldragen
nilonka wrote:
there are five people on this website anymore, Woodrow: me you, Nihil, Wendy, and they guy who loves Trench as a warlord. You can't afford to disagree. WE NEED THESE TOURNEY KITS!!!!!


Sat May 05, 2012 8:55 pm
Profile
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 25284
Location: San Diego, CA
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
Woodrow wrote:
Eresh-nerf! Whyyyyyyyyyy?! :nonono:

Cuz infinites are dumb.

_________________
Kasugoan's Redemption • Slayer of the Silvered Fount • Warlord Story Team, Retired • Order of the Doomed Liver-Darth Cider • 2009 ToL Keeper Fantasy League Champion • 2010 & 2011 ToL Football Pick 'em Champion
Draven (about DP9K) wrote:
Psh, im from kentucky. I rode him for YEARS


Sat May 05, 2012 9:33 pm
Profile YIM
Head of Insanity Division
Head of Insanity Division
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 3422
Location: Oak Park, IL
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
AragornRoR wrote:
Quote:
Mind over body

Can we get some insight into what someone found as OP with this card? Because whatever it is I'm sure it was really fun! :)

Expanded Spell
If the warlord fails the copied save, you gain control of him. Presto - you win.

AragornRoR wrote:
But he still doesn't work with stuff that specifies they must be killed with ACTIONS, like Blood Cauldron, The Earth or Nin-Gula, right?

Seems like if you're gonna make him work, why not make him work all the way?

Right. He is not performing an action.

"All the way" first is a question of power and second is better addressed through the other cards, not through him. Suggestions like Kyn's (and most every other one I've seen or half-written myself) are just, well, ugly. I've talked to Tommy (and others, but mostly Tommy) about it and I have my doubts I'll get my way on this one. :shrug:

-VIC

_________________
Have a rules question? There's a forum for that!
I reserve the right to ignore all rules-related PMs that I deem should be asked there. 8)


Sat May 05, 2012 10:13 pm
Profile
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
Baron-Administrator Darth Crimson
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:00 pm
Posts: 25284
Location: San Diego, CA
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
Fair enough. :thumbsup:

_________________
Kasugoan's Redemption • Slayer of the Silvered Fount • Warlord Story Team, Retired • Order of the Doomed Liver-Darth Cider • 2009 ToL Keeper Fantasy League Champion • 2010 & 2011 ToL Football Pick 'em Champion
Draven (about DP9K) wrote:
Psh, im from kentucky. I rode him for YEARS


Sat May 05, 2012 11:19 pm
Profile YIM
Initiate
Initiate
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 1:39 am
Posts: 190
Location: Yuba City, California
Post Re: Card Errata 5/5/2012
I think Phoenix Rising should errata his React to OPT.


All I'm saying is: Phoenix Rising + Flame Blade =


Nuff said.


Sun May 06, 2012 6:41 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.